The Chic List

The Chic List: March


This month, we move chicly forward by looking back, embracing our roots as a small, folk-art-filled boutique, and our love of intricate detail, rich color and global treasures. We call it celebrating “The Art of Chico’s.” And in keeping with our art appreciation, March’s Chic List is filled with homages to the art world, and ways to add a little art to your every day.

Chico’s Jacket, Chico’s Pants, Chico’s Belt

The Quote

A single phrase that captures the essence of our collection:

“Art is not what you see, but what you make others see.” – Edgar Degas 

The Manicure

Base color is CND Cashmere Wrap. Design colors are CND Black Pool and CND Cream Puff.

We have to say, makeup artist Jen Tsourvakas (@the_jen_of_all_trades) of Parlour 3 absolutely “nailed it” with her artistic rendering of our new geometric print. And her brilliant manicure works with everything from a simple tee and jeans to an LBD (and the pieces in our modern geo print collection, of course). Next time you head to the nail salon, be sure to bring this with you as nail art inspiration.

The Cocktail

Photo Credit: Aaron Cook

Created by Caroline Styne, Co-Owner of The Lucques Group and recipient of the 2018 James Beard Outstanding Restauranteur Award—“The Restauranteur” celebrates the art of mixing up and mingling with a chic drink. The cocktail features aged rum, champagne and homemade sarsaparilla syrup. Pairs perfectly with anything from of our coral-hued collection.

The Restauranteur
1 oz aged rum
.75 oz lemon 
.5 oz sarsaparilla syrup
4 oz champagne 

Glass: Nick and Nora
Garnish: Orange Twists
Built in glass

Sarsaparilla Syrup:
1 tbsp sarsaparilla 
1.5 cup sugar
1 cup water 

Bring ingredients to a boil, let cool to room temp. 
Stain through chinois and you're ready to use!

The Reading List

We believe that finding a great book is an art form. To make the hunt a little easier, we pulled together a reading list featuring books on female friendship, behind-the-scenes fashion, and customizing art for your home. 

The Women in Black, by Madeleine St. John – Perfect for fans of “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” this delightful and uplifting novel portrays the roles of women in the 1950s and the timeless importance of female friendship.

Tales from the Back Row by Amy Odell – A keenly observed collection of personal essays about what it’s like to be a young woman working in the fashion industry, this book offers “a backstage pass to the intimidating, backbiting industry” (US Weekly).

Editor in Chic by Mikki Taylor – “First Lady of Beauty” and trusted lifestyle expert Mikki Taylor shares uplifting advice for women who want to cultivate their beauty both inside and out.

Inspire Your Home by Farah Merhi – Instagram star and founder of Inspire Me! Home Décor shares her creative and elegant interior design secrets to help you create your glamorous yet cozy home without spending a fortune.

Elements of Family Style by Erin Gates – New York Times bestselling author and popular lifestyle blogger Erin Gates shares everything you need to know about designing a beautifully stylish—yet practical and functional—family home through candid advice, inspirational ideas and life lessons.

The Films

In keeping with our focus on art and chic, our film list for March takes a cue from people, places and events that inspire (or inspired) great art.   

The First Monday in May by Andrew Rossi – This documentary film chronicles the year-long preparation of the 2015 New York Metropolitan Museum of the Art’s exhibition: “China: Through the Looking Glass.” The exhibit, curated by Andrew Bolton (chief curator at the Costume Institute), was the most attended fashion exhibit in history.  

Iris by Albert Maysles – Another documentary (definitely one of our guilty pleasures!), Iris follows the quick-witted, famously bespectacled New York City fashion icon, Iris Apfel, capturing her larger-than-life personality, boundless creativity and indominable spirit at age 93. Iris gives the audience a peek into the style maven’s life.

The Diving Bell and The Butterfly and Basquiat by Julian Schnabel – Our final two films were directed by painter Julian Schnabel—the first, The Diving Bell and The Butterfly, is a biographical drama based on French journalist Jean-Dominique Bauby’s memoir of the same name. It tells the story of Bauby’s massive stroke, which left him with a condition known as locked-in syndrome. The second, also a biographical drama, is Schnabel’s tribute to Brooklyn-born postmodernist/neo expressionist artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, who used his roots in graffiti art as the foundation for his highly recognizable collage-style paintings on canvas.

The Look

Chico’s Jacket, Marla Wynne for Chico’s Tank, Chico’s Jeans, Chico’s Earrings

Our outfit of the moment showcases the art of details. The tweed jacket debuted a decade ago. It was a best seller we felt compelled to bring back, update, and make even more beautiful with purposefully-placed faux pearls and flowers sewn along the collar, along with a brilliant new color palette. It’s a statement-maker with a clean white tee and dark denim.

You May Also Like